Personality & Business Success with Alex Paulos Brain Science of Success Series: Creating Success From The Inside Out - Dr Shannon Irvine

What makes you tick?

Why are you the way that you are?

How many Buzzfeed quizzes and personality tests have you taken to figure it out?

Which Disney Character am I? What color is my aura? Which Pumpkin Dessert Matches My Personality? (and for all my fall lovers… yes! That’s a real quiz!)

It’s in our DNA to want to know!

The amazing thing is… There’s a brain science behind knowing ourselves, our personalities, and other people’s too!

This week is the eighth week in our podcast series: The Brain Science of Success. I’ve invited some of my colleagues and leading doctors to come talk with you over the next few weeks about how to maximize the power of your brain to work for you – and not against you! 

In this week’s episode of the Epic Success Podcast, I talk with Alex Paulos about the brain science of recognizing people and personalities in your life and in your business.

Alex Paulos is the author of the book, “Recognizing People” and an expert on the brain science of personality, facial recognition, and how all of that connects to running a business. The idea of reading faces is an ancient idea that can help you scale your business in a modern world.

I can’t wait to deep dive with you into this big idea of Recognizing People (…and yourself)!

The biggest take-aways from today’s episode are:

  • Temperament (innate personality) is inborn – you are born with it and you die with it.

Everybody is born with a specific and individual temperament. It’s an innate characteristic that makes you… you. And there is a brain science behind temperament, personality, individual characteristics to who you are. And when you know who you are innately and have that awareness, you are able to see things for what they are and create the reality you actually want. [6:18]]

  • Breaking down what is actually you will give you permission and confidence to live the real you.”

When you know who you are – your genuine, authentic self – your personality, the drive and motivation behind your actions – you tap into a whole new world of what it means to actually be you. And when you have that awareness, you are able to choose the thoughts that lead you to the best version of yourself and the best life you’ve only dreamed of living. [10:01]

  • Pretending to be something that you’re not will keep you stuck.”

You have to have an awareness of who you really are. You have to be able to know who you are, know the motivation behind why you do what you do, and understand yourself at your core. The first step is to get rid of all deception in your life about yourself – good or bad, if it is not true then you are not living in the real version of yourself. Do you see yourself clearly? [53:33]

Oh this week’s interview was amazing and I could’ve talked with Alex for hourssss

We all have this deep desire to know who we really are, and we’re often misguided by personality quizzes and the different ways you can type yourself. The good news is that there is a brain science behind discovering who we really are, the motivation behind why we do what we do, and understanding ourselves at our core. 

I can’t wait to see you step into the full reality of who you are and begin to create the thoughts that will create the reality you’ve always wanted!


Are you a coach or thinking of becoming one?

Now more than ever, coaching is a vital business that is growing faster than ever before and your voice and expertise is needed in the market. And I have something just.for.you!

I’m hosting a free, Live coach training session where you will learn a predictable way to enroll at least 10 new coaching clients every single month and NEW coaches can learn the exact RIGHT steps to confidently coach AND profitably launch their business from scratch!

It’s happening Live on Monday, October 12th @ 11am PST
(12pm MST / 1pm CST / 2pm EST / 7pm UK / 4am Tues AEST)

AND on Tuesday, October 13th @ 10am PST
(11am MST / 12pm CST / 1pm EST / 6pm UK / 3am Wed AEST)

Click HERE and you’ll be added to the list for this free live training session!


Today I want to give a shoutout to one of my Epic Success Podcast listeners who left a 5-star review titled “You want more success in life a…”:

Thanks so much for your awesome information. Super valuable.

I absolutely love sharing the brain-based process of creating success in your life & business with you each week on the Epic Success podcast! Reviews are how I know you’re finding value and help me share Epic Success with more people!

If you have something you want to say about the Epic Success podcast, I’d love it if you’d post a 5-star review on iTunes, Stitcher, Spotify or wherever you listen to podcasts.