How Your Brain Wires Success & Failure with Dr. Shannon Irvine - Dr Shannon Irvine

When I was a kid, we would drive through upscale neighborhoods and my dad would always say, “These people can only afford living here because they’re living off the work of good people.”

In my young, child brain, I equated having money and living in a nice house to being a bad person. And my brain not only believed that for many, many years, but it caused me to operate and make decisions out of that belief. It held me back for a long time. 

In this week’s episode of the Epic Success Podcast, I break down How the Brain Wires Success and How the Brain Wires Failure.

Our brain is wired in such a specific way and when we have an understanding of how the brain works and operates, we are able to work our brains for us, instead of our brains working us.

I can’t wait to dive into success and failure in your brain so that you can go from stressed-success to thriving success. 

The biggest take-aways from today’s episode are:

  • Your negative thinking is not your fault.

First things first… The way you think is not.your.fault! Your brain will automate the thoughts and beliefs you think over time. This means that you have automated beliefs you don’t even realize you’re living out of. And it isn’t your fault – it’s the way our brains are wired. Good news! You have the ability to rewire that! [4:03]

  • Safe and familiar means something different to everyone… including you

Your brain’s entire job is to keep you safe and familiar. When you try to do something different (good or bad), your brain will see that as a risk and will block you from the success you’re working towards. Thoughts in your brain have been wired and automated and your brain will adamantly work towards keeping you in that same (safe and familiar) thinking. [8:40]

  • Being aware of your thoughts is the first step to rewiring old automation that leads you to failure to new automation that brings you success.

In order to rewire your old automated thoughts and beliefs, you first have to be aware of what you’re actually thinking. You have to recognize the thoughts. And when you identify the self-sabotaging thoughts, you break down the wall that is keeping you in that safe and familiar state. Those thoughts leading you to failure can be wired to lead you to epic success. [13:46]

It’s time to start living as the best version of yourself. It’s time to start serving the people you’ve always wanted to serve. It’s time to be the creator of your thoughts and create the life you’ve always dreamed of having. 

Tell me: What are you going to do this week to become the creator of your thoughts? I want to know! DM on Instagram or send me a message on Facebook. I look forward to hearing from you!


Are you a coach or thinking of becoming one?

Now more than ever, coaching is a vital business that is growing faster than ever before and your voice and expertise is needed in the market. And I have something just.for.you!

I’m hosting a free, Live coach training session where you will learn a predictable way to enroll at least 10 new coaching clients every single month and NEW coaches can learn the exact RIGHT steps to confidently coach AND profitably launch their business from scratch!

It’s happening Live on Wednesday, October 21st @ 12pm PST
(1pm MST / 2pm CST / 3pm EST / 8pm UK / 5am Thurs AEST)

AND on Wednesday, October 21st @ 6pm PST
(7pm MST / 8pm CST / 9pm EST / 2am UK / 11am Thurs AEST)

Head to drshannonirvine.com/coach and you’ll be added to the list for this free live training session!


Today I want to give a shoutout to one of my Epic Success Podcast listeners who left a 5-star review titled “Dr. Shannon is amazing”:

Dr. Shannon has not only upleveled my business but also my life. So grateful for her heart and passion”

I absolutely love sharing the brain-based process of creating success in your life & business with you each week on the Epic Success podcast! Reviews are how I know you’re finding value and help me share Epic Success with more people!

If you have something you want to say about the Epic Success podcast, I’d love it if you’d post a 5-star review on iTunes, Stitcher, Spotify or wherever you listen to podcasts.